1936 Annual General Meeting Minutes (Adjourned)

 Sat, 14th Mar, 1936

Author: Munster Agricultural Society

Credits: Munster Agricultural Society

Copyright: Munster Agricultural Society

Keywords: 1936, Minutes, Annual General Meeting

Adjourned Annual General Meeting of the Society held on 14th March, 1936,
at 1.30 p.m. at Commercial Buildings, South Mall. Mr. N. Hayes presided and there was a large attendance.

ADJOURNED                        Adjourned Annual General Meeting of the

ANNUAL GENERAL             Society held on 14th March, 1936, at 1.30 p.m.

MEETING                              at Commercial Buildings, South Mall. Mr. N. Hayes presided and there was a large attendance.


RECOMMENDATION         Mr. E.J. Clarke then proposed the following

RULES REGARDING            resolution:- 

RETIREMENT &                   “This Committee recommend to the Annual

ELECTION OF                       General Meeting of the Society that the rules

MEMBERS ……                     regarding the retirement and election of members

PUT INTO OPERATION      to the General Committee of the Society be not put into operation, but that the same Committee as elected in 1935 be re-elected  for the coming year, and that  this be regarded as a temporary alteration to meet the special circumstances of the year 1935”.


                                                Mr. Clarke said they all knew the history of the resolution – it came as a recommendation from the General Committee to the Annual Meeting at the end of January.  It did not meet with unanimous acceptance there and it was not passed, but since then they had consulted together and the result of their exchange  of views was a unanimous understanding which had cleared the air.  This would give confidence to exhibitors and State holders alike, and the Summer Show would be held in an atmosphere of harmony and goodwill.

                                                Mr. P. Crowley said it gave him very much pleasure to second the proposition.  The Chairman put the motion to the Meeting and there being no amendment, he declared it passed unanimously.

                                               The Secretary then read out the names of the Committee as follows:-

MEMBERS OF GENERAL   President, Capt. T.A. Clarke, Farran House, Farren.

COMMITTEE                        Vice President:- Ald. W. Desmond, T.D., Messrs S. Grehan, Clonmeen, Banteer; N. Hayes, Hayesleigh, Lehenagh, T.O’Sullivan, Cloughduv, Crookstown; A. Morrison, Knockalisheen, Cork; A.H. Moore, C/o Ogilvie & Moore, Cork; E.J. Clarke, Aghamarta Castle, Carrigaline.


                                                Committee:-  Miss M.E. Gubbins, Glanmire; Miss G. Montgomery, Mitchelstown; Commander W.R. Hodder, Fountainstown; Major T.P.  Morgan, Carrigaline; Major A.H. Watt, Midleton; Messrs D. Cronin, Scart Aheria, P. Crowley, Lota, Glanmire; E.J. Cussen, C/o Farmers’ Union, Anglesea Street; J. Daly, M.R.C.V.S., Cock Street, Cork; L. Dobbin, Junr., Knockrea Park, Douglas Road, Cork; R.H. Dring, Glyntown, Glanmire; A.H. Good, M.A. Deanrock, Cork; P.J. Good, Aherlow, Aherla; C.V. Good, Lehenagh, Cork, F.G. Hayes, Crosshaven; J. Henderson, Ardrum, Inniscarra; J. Lehane, Rock Farm, Carrigrohane; C.A. Love, Carrigaline; A. Mullins, White’s Cross; D. Murphy, Rathcullen, Templemartin; P.J. O’Connell, Killumney, Ovens; J. O’Regan, Crookstown; J.B. Roberts, The Cottage, Rigsdale, D. Ross, P.C., Tweedmount, Blarney, Ml. Ryan, The Acres, Dripsey; J.D. Sheedy, Carrignavar; T.J. Spillane, Killowen, Blarney, M. Twomey, P.C. Berrings, H. Twomey, F.C. Ballinhassig, E. Wall, Crookstown,

                                                Prof. C. Boyle, M.A., B.Sc., (representing the Faculty of Dairy Science) University College, Cork; D. Dempsey (representing Co. Waterford) L.M. Harris

                                                (representing  Co. Waterford) L.M. Harris (representing Co, Limerick) The McGillycuddy (representing Co. Kerry).


Members of Committee   E. McLysaght           (representing Co. Clare)

                                                Mrs. Wm. Bagwell  (representing Co. Tipperary)


VOTE OF THANKS               Mr. A.H. Moore proposed a vote of thanks to the ladies who had  given them so much help in the running of the Restaurant at the last and previous Shows. Miss  Gubbins seconded, and this was passed unanimously.

N. Hayes – Sd.